POSTPONED : RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra : Joshua Weilerstein (Conductor)  Pavel Kolesnikov (Piano)

Mar 28th
7:30 pm
€25 |

WIT Arena, Waterford | €25, €5 under 18s

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2019-2020 Season

Symphony Club of Waterford proudly present:

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Joshua Weilerstein conductor 

 Pavel Kolesnikov piano  

The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra returns to Waterford on Saturday 28 March as part of its 2019-2020 Season with a programme of works by Beethoven, Chopin, Sibelius and the Pulitzer Prize winner Caroline Shaw, four thrilling examples of orchestral writing at its most majestic, heroic, passionate, powerful and poetic. Joining them are two startling and very exciting young international artists: conductor Joshua Weilerstein and pianist Pavel Kolesnikov.

Beethoven Egmont Overture  / 9’

Chopin Piano Concerto No.2 / 32’

Caroline Shaw Entr’acte  / 11’

Sibelius Symphony No.5 / 30’

Joshua Weilerstein has been acclaimed for his ‘intense, eloquently moving and spectacularly knife-edge’ performances (Classical Source) so expect fireworks aplenty in Beethoven’s Egmont Overture, a moving defence of personal sacrifice in the face of political oppression and a bold example of music’s ability to engage both head and heart in times of turmoil.

Steeped in the romantic ardour of his Polish homeland, Chopin’s Second Piano Concerto is a radiant, electrifying masterpiece that seems tailor-made for the ‘abundance of intelligence, sensitivity, musicality, imagination and sheer instrumental mastery’ (Gramophone) of soloist Pavel Kolesnikov.

Pulitzer Prize-winner Caroline Shaw is one of the most approachable and exciting of young American composers. Entr’acte takes us through Alice’s looking glass into what Shaw describes as ‘a kind of absurd, subtle, Technicolor’ world. It’s an intricate, beautifully crafted piece of ever-changing contours and jewel-like colours lit up by folk music textures and orchestral splendour.

The Fifth Symphony by Sibelius was commissioned by the Finnish government to mark the composer’s 50th birthday. In his diary, the composer confided: ‘It is as if God Almighty had thrown down the pieces of a mosaic for Heaven’s floor and asked me to find out what was the original pattern’. The result is glorious music laced with atmosphere and emotion that sweeps the listener along with powerful currents of fantasy to end, memorably, in a radiant and dramatic finale described by one eminent music critic as ‘Thor swinging his hammer’.

Similar Events